Be Quiet……

In the craziness of life, I pray, but sometimes feel like I can’t hear what God is telling me. The bible says in Jeremiah 33:3, “Call to me and I will answer you and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.” So what am I doing wrong?

I know God hears all prayers! It is biblical, after all (Psalm 34:15)! Throughout the day, I pray about random things: health, safety, kids, life problems, marriages, loved ones, lost people, muffin tops, human trafficking victims….. You get the point! It’s a little random. Don’t judge! I feel like I am doing things right. I am doing what God wants, right?

Well……in true perfect God way, one day he told me to “Be Quiet” He probably wanted to tell me to shut my big mouth, but He didn’t! (He is so much sweeter than me!) I knew I had heard him correctly, because I was spewing thank you’s and requests so fast that my brain could barely keep up. God really just told me to “Be Quiet.” And I knew exactly what He was talking about. God doesn’t hint around.

My prayers had become rhythmic, insincere talks with God. I realize that I have been talking but failing to listen. God wants us to slow down and listen to Him. He does hear me, but He doesn’t want this to be a one-sided relationship. He wants me to hear Him. Romans 8:14 For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

It may not be pretty, but it’s real….

3 thoughts on “Be Quiet……”

  1. I love hearing that we are not alone in our strivings to obey God’s commands. The busyness of life can be such a hinderance to actually hearing God’s voice above all the noise. As the song says, silence is golden :-). We all need more of it!

    Like

  2. Beautifully said, Jess!! Your words mirrors what I posted on my page tonight: Be Still and Know that I am God. We get so caught up in everyday life and problems that we end up listening AT God rather than listening TO Him.
    Thank you for your honesty; it hit home!
    Love you.

    Like

Leave a comment